Happy 2012!

Yes, I know that it is now more than two weeks into this new year so I’m late with those greetings, and I know that I have been seriously slacking on the blog front, but please don’t get all cranky with me.  I’ve been cranky enough for both of us lately.  Honestly, I haven’t had much time to do more than check my email recently, as my employers have scheduled extra classes and promotions to take advantage of the Christmas/New Year/Spring Festival trifecta of holiday wonderfulness that is happening right now.  And that hasn’t made me particularly happy, but you didn’t come here to hear about that, now did you?

So…back to the blog.

January 1st was my one-year blog-iversary, so congratulations to me!  It also marks the first time in my life I’ve ever successfully kept a New Year’s resolution, so huzzah to that as well.

With it being early in the New Year, and celebrating my blog’s one-year mark, it seems fitting that I reflect a little bit on the past year.

From a personal standpoint, the biggest event of the year was our wedding in May, and my family’s visit to attend.  It was a crazy event to plan, and certainly had some strange moments, but I will always remember it and am so thankful to my mother, father and brother for traveling so far to be a part of our special day.

Thanks, family!

As for the blog, I started it on January 1st of last year, with the idea that it would be a platform for me to share funny stories with family and friends and save me typing the same thing over and over!  Throughout the year, I was amazed to see the number of readers grow and to hear that people really enjoyed the site and looked forward to new stories each week.  I received, and survived, my first truly hateful comment, and started feeling like a part of the blogging community when I was invited to be a part of the 7 Links project and the Versatile Blogger project.

I was also lucky to be invited to do a few interviews (with youcanteachEnglish.com, Jetsettlers magazine, and China Travel Blog), to be included in a blog series that Nomadic Chick did called Summer Chick Tales, where I told the story of how my husband and I met, and to play a part in an article that Shanghai Novice posted about some of the quirks that newcomers to China can expect.

Quirks like...Koosh ball shoes!

I didn’t start this blog to become rich and famous (although if that were to happen, I wouldn’t decline!).  I’m still blown away that anyone outside of family members reads what I write, and felt even more so when I received a message the other day from the editor of My New Chinese Love telling me that this little blog has been nominated (not by me, if that’s what you’re thinking) for the first ever Lotus Blossom Award for being a ‘favourite Chinese Love blog’!  I’m honoured to be included with Speaking of China and Life Behind the Wall, since those are two blogs run by wonderful women whom I admire a lot.

Now the part where you help out; you see, you can vote for this award.  So if you have a spare minute, and enjoy this blog, you can VISIT THIS PAGE AND VOTE for me!

Thank you for all the comments, kind words, laughs and support over the past year.  I hope you continue to enjoy this site (and hey, tell two friends, and tell them to tell two friends, etc.)!

This entry was posted in Personal, Shameless Self-Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy 2012!

  1. Sally says:

    Done and done. Congratulations on being nominated! You totally deserve it. And happy to see you back in the blogosphere. Happy Chinese New Year, to you, too, by the way!

  2. Sorry, I’ve already voted for speakingofchina! Your blog and Jo’s Life Behind The Wall are also really wonderful blogs and deserve to be nominated. If only they had a 2nd and/or 3rd favourite blog vote for readers to cast their choice! But I really DO enjoy reading your posts and have been much edified and entertained each time That’s why I continue to comment. More power to you and your blog! 新年
    快乐, 万事如意!

    • kjsandor says:

      No worries! Both Jocelyn’s and Jo’s blogs are fantastic and I look up to both of them. It’s wonderful to be mentioned alongside them! I’m glad you enjoy it and hope I continue to entertain you this year. Xin nian kuai le!

Leave a Reply

